Chris’ Picks (07/04/18 Comic Pull List)

Welcome back to Chris’ Picks!  A weekly article where I outline my personal comic pull list for the week.  Let me know in the comments what you are picking up this Wednesday!  Anything that I read will be discussed on the subsequent Beards Beers Comics podcast episode.

 

1 – Death or Glory #3 (Image) $3.99 US

By – Rick Remender, Bengal

1

Their Description – Glory has found a way to save her father’s life, but getting there means barreling into the heart of her ex’s criminal empire-and the horrors he committed there.

My Take – Even though the setup for Death or Glory feels like any number of action movies, it is very exciting to experience this in comic form.  Reading this can definitely get the adrenaline racing and I have enjoyed every moment of the first two issues.  This is the comic I am most excited for this week!

 

2 – Dark Ark #8 (Aftershock) $3.99 US

By – Cullen Bunn, Juan Doe

2

Their Description – The Mother of Monsters has risen… and she cries out to her children. The bonds of supernatural blood are strong. Will any of the beasts on Shrae’s Ark be able to resist? From writer Cullen Bunn (X-Men Blue, Deadpool, Venom) and artist Juan Doe (ANIMOSITY: THE RISE, AMERICAN MONSTER, WORLD READER) comes a sinister tale of biblical proportions that HAD to be told at AfterShock Comics!

My Take – Dark Ark has a unique premise – A wizard builds an ark for all the unnatural creatures of the world to save them from the Biblical flood.  I had faith that Cullen Bunn would deliver a macabre and dark tale, and he has delivered thus far.  Plus, we need something to fill the void that Harrow County has left us with.

 

3 – Sword Daughter #2 (Dark Horse) $3.99 US

By – Brian Wood, Mack Chater
4
Their Description – Revenge is violent and heartbreaking, but for Dag and his semi-feral daughter, the clash of swords is a chance to heal old wounds. First stop is the Shetlands and a serial killer who must be put down.

My Take – Sword Daughter started off slow, for me…but I’m still very intrigued by this tale of bloodshed and revenge.  I’ll report back on the podcast with my thoughts.

 

4 – Quantum Age: From the World of Black Hammer #1 (Dark Horse) $3.99 US

By – Jeff Lemire, Wilfredo Torres, Dave Stewart, Nate Piekos

3

Their Description – Set in the world of the Eisner Award-winning Black Hammerseries–but a thousand years in the future–a collection of superheroes, inspired by the legendary heroes of Black Hammer Farm, must band together to save the planet from an authoritarian regime. A young Martian must find a way to reform The Quantum League to save the world while solving the riddle of what happened to the great heroes of the twentieth century. 
My Take – As much as I love Black Hammer we are teetering on a precipice…One more BH tie in could wreck it all for me.  Don’t get me wrong, I’m glad this is working so well for Jeff and crew, but it might be too much BH all at once.  I will eagerly read The Quantum Age this week, but hopefully it feels different and warranted.

 

5 – Cosmic Ghost Rider #1 of 5 (Marvel)

By – Donny Cates, Dylan Burnett, Geoff Shaw

5

Their Description – EXPLODING FROM THE PAGES OF THANOS! Frank Castle was the Punisher. A deal with the devil made him Ghost Rider. A deal with Galactus made him cosmic. A deal with Thanos made him…DEAD?!? Not to worry, he’s coming back, and he’s got a plan to make the universe a better place that’s going to lead him into an even CRAZIER adventure than he’s ever been in! Join hot new comic (and cosmic?) writer Donny Cates (THANOS, DOCTOR STRANGE) as he pushes his wildest creation past the breaking point! Rated T+

My Take – I really enjoyed the Thanos Wins arc and The Cosmic Ghost Rider was one of the biggest reasons for that.  I hope that Donny and crew can make this mini-series just as funny and not feel superfluous.

Leave a comment